Protein & veggie addict! 21 Day Fix- Day 1

IMG_5936  21-day-fix-containers1

I started Beach Body’s 21 Day Fix today with very little preparation! When I got the tiny containers in the mail and read all of the info I realized that the program fit pretty well with my existing food and fitness routines- less the occasional nut or popcorn binge of course… which is exactly what motivated to do the fix. I wanted to get back to my roots– I was doing too much snacking at work and falling prey to all kinds of gluten free treats that my amazing co-workers bring me. I am so ready to get back to the days where eating clean and saying no to the goodies felt easy!

I had a very interesting weekend that included celebrating a 30th birthday and pretending I was in college again… cool ranch Doritos and all. So going into the Fix, I was NOT prepared. I did not do the prework and meal planning that everyone suggests. I made my usual salad using the containers, grabbed my usual yogurt, banana and Shakeology and ran out the door in hopes that I would make it to work on time despite even MORE snow in Philly. I ate my usual routine (less cream in my coffee) and came home to my 21 Day Fix Eating Plan book that I wished I had all day at school.

After calculating what I ate (grilled chix breast = 1 red; half banana= 1 purple; Gazebo Greek Dressing (mmm)= 1 orange; Greek Yogurt= 1 red; Shakeology = 1 red), I was in pretty good shape. For my specific plan (calorie based) I still had 2 green, 2 yellow, 1 red and 1 blue) for dinner. Let me tell you, that = a LOT of food. Though I didn’t have my usual late afternoon school snack because I had no clue what my “container count” really was, I was SO FULL after dinner and still had 2 yellow, 1 purple and 1 blue container left. However, I learned that Shakeology actually counted as red after the fact so I did go over in red (protein).

What I found crazy– at the end of the night I was stuffed. I LOVE PROTEIN ADN VEGGIES. Apparently, it’s all I want to eat and I only get 4 containers of protein and 3 veggies. I actually wonder if I can trade carbs or fruit for veggies. I doubt it, but I’m going to ask around and report back. Seems like I found my challenge for the rest of the Fix!

Would love to hear your thoughts!

